Making the best of it

While many of you are staying closer to home these days, we want you to have an abundance of ways to Explore and Engage in exciting opportunities near and far. We have gathered a variety of resources to help you keep growing and learning. We hope you enjoy these fun and interesting activities. We will be updating this page as new opportunities arise so visit us often!

Social Opportunities

Stay connected to us socially and enjoy some personal enrichment along the way

TOWNE CLUB TUESDAYS Image

TOWNE CLUB TUESDAYS

Each Tuesday at 10 a.m. grab a cup of joe and join in a live chat with other Towne Club members and a member of the Marketing Team at Salemtowne. We hope that we can get to know you a little better, and you can get to know each other.

Register here
TOWNE CLUB WALKING CLUB Image

TOWNE CLUB WALKING CLUB

If you enjoy getting out for fresh air and a stroll, consider joining our new Towne Club Walking Club. Choose a time slot to come cruise campus on foot. Get some exercise and, if you’d like, you can pick up a meal to go from our cafe, Bistro Twenty-Six. We look forward to seeing you (and your sneakers!) in our community.

Register here

STC BOOK CLUB

Reading books brings people together in new ways. Join our Towne Club Book Club for a lively discussion monthly of a great book!
Books are selected in advance by the members.

Register Here

THE KITCHEN HOUSE Image

THE KITCHEN HOUSE

by Kathleen Grissom

MAY SESSION
Tuesday, May 18th at 10:30 a.m.

New York Times bestselling author of the highly anticipated "Glory Over Everything", established herself as a remarkable new talent with "The Kitchen House", now a contemporary classic. In this gripping novel, a dark secret threatens to expose the best and worst in everyone tied to the estate at a thriving plantation in Virginia in the decades before the Civil War.

Want more information or need a copy of the book?
Click the button below.

GET THE BOOK NOW

Stamped From the Beginning Image

Stamped From the Beginning

Ibram X. Kendi

JUNE SESSION
Tuesday, June 15th at 10:30 a.m.

In this deeply researched and fast-moving narrative, Kendi chronicles the entire story of anti-Black racist ideas and their staggering power over the course of American history. "Stamped from the Beginning" uses the life stories of five major American intellectuals to offer a window into the contentious debates between assimilationists and segregationists and between racists and antiracists.

Want more information or need a copy of the book?
Click the button below.

GET THE BOOK NOW

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek Image

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Kim Michele Richardson

JULY SESSION
Tuesday, July 20th at 10:30 a.m.

The bestselling historical fiction from Kim Michele Richardson, this is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of Lee Smith and Lisa Wingate.

Want more information or need a copy of the book?
Click the button below.

GET THE BOOK NOW

A Woman of No Importance Image

A Woman of No Importance

by Hope Jahren

AUGUST SESSION
Tuesday, August 17th at 10:30 a.m.

A never-before-told story of Virginia Hall, the American spy who changed the course of World War II, from the author of Clementine. In 1942, the Gestapo sent out an urgent transmission: “She is the most dangerous of all Allied spies. We must find and destroy her.”

Want more information or need a copy of the book?
Click the button below.

GET THE BOOK NOW

LAB GIRL Image

LAB GIRL

by Hope Jahren

SEPTEMBER SESSION
Tuesday, September 24th at 10:30 a.m.

Geobiologist Hope Jahren has spent her life studying trees, flowers, seeds, and soil. Lab Girl is her revelatory treatise on plant life, but it is also a celebration of the lifelong curiosity, humility, and passion that drive every scientist.

Want more information or need a copy of the book?
Click the button below.

GET THE BOOK NOW

The Sun Does Shine:  How I Found Life, Freedom, and Justice Image

The Sun Does Shine: How I Found Life, Freedom, and Justice

by Anthony Ray Hinton

OCTOBER SESSION
Tuesday, October 19th at 10:30 a.m.

In 1985, Anthony Ray Hinton was arrested and charged with two counts of capital murder in Alabama. Stunned, confused, and only 29 years old, Hinton knew that it was a case of mistaken identity and believed that the truth would prove his innocence and ultimately set him free.

Want more information or need a copy of the book?
Click the button below.

GET THE BOOK NOW

The Book of Longings Image

The Book of Longings

by Sue Monk Kidd

NOVEMBER SESSION
Tuesday, November 16th at 10:30 a.m.

An extraordinary story set in the first century about a woman who finds her voice and her destiny, from the celebrated number one New York Times bestselling author of "The Secret Life of Bees" and "The Invention of Wings".

Want more information or need a copy of the book?
Click the button below.

GET THE BOOK NOW

Educational Courses

An investment in knowledge pays the best interest -Benjamin Franklin

blank

Academic

Take a university course at a prestigious university like Notre Dame, Stanford, Cornell, or Yale. Harvard’s course Justice, What’s the Right Thing to Do? is an interesting first place to start.

Academic Earth

DRAWING

Drop in anytime for a virtual session of at New York City’s Metropolitan Museum of Art’s popular drawing series. Experience The Met collection through creative drawing challenges.

The Met

COOKING

Fourteen free, pre-recorded, self-paced cooking classes from Christopher Kimball’s MilkStreet cooking school.

Milk Street

Podcasts

BROADEN YOUR PERSPECTIVE AS YOU LISTEN TO TODAY’S TOP PODCASTS

Museums

World-renowned works of art... enjoyed from the comfort of your own home

blank

Art Institute of Chicago

Wherever you are, whatever the time, online resources from the Art Institute of Chicago are always here to connect you to our collection of art from around the world—whether you’re seeking inspiration, community, or a little adventure.

Visit Now

The Louvre

Visit the museum rooms and galleries, admire the palace architecture and enjoy the views from The Louvre’s virtual tour. Also enjoy a collection of videos and experiences: YouTubers at the Louvre, the Mona Lisa VR experience, and A Closer Look at Louvre Artworks.

Visit Now

Hermitage Museum

The collection of the State Hermitage includes over 3 million works of art and world culture artefacts. It contains paintings, graphic works, sculptures, works of applied art, archaeological artefacts and numismatic objects.

Visit Now

The National Gallery

Three virtual tours allow you to step inside the Gallery and explore one of the greatest collections of paintings, from the comfort of your home. Experience the Gallery in virtual reality through your desktop, phone or VR headset

Visit Now

Degas at the Opéra

This show is dedicated to Edgar Degas’s fascination with the Opéra—its spaces, the music, and the people involved with the thriving theatrical life of 19th-century Paris. This exhibition is organized by the National Gallery of Art, Washington, and the Musées d'Orsay et de l'Orangerie, Paris.

Visit Now

Yoga & Workouts

I have always believed exercise is a key not only to physical health but to peace of mind -Nelson Mandela

Yoga with Adriene Image

Yoga with Adriene

Welcoming all levels, body, genders, and souls. Browse Adriene’s library of free yoga videos to find a practice that suits your mood or start a journey toward healing.

Register here
Fitness Blender Image

Fitness Blender

Low impact workouts. Over 500 free workouts organized by length, difficulty, training type, muscles used, calorie burn, and more.

Register here

Live Streams

Whether you prefer large and loud or cute and cuddly, these awe-inspiring creatures will help you connect with nature.

Brown Bear Cam Image

Brown Bear Cam

Puppy Cam Image

Puppy Cam

Elephant Cam Image

Elephant Cam

Cheetah Cam Image

Cheetah Cam

Birding

Birds inspire us to take flight and soar in our own way.

The Audubon Bird Guide is a free and complete field guide to over 800 species of North American birds, right in your pocket. Built for all experience levels, it will help you identify the birds around you, keep track of the birds you’ve seen, and get outside to find new birds near you.

blank GET YOUR PERSONALIZED SUMMARY